Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

Early Years Curriculum

The Foundation Stage Early Years Curriculum is broken down into 2 main themes:

Characteristics of Effective Learning:
This focuses on how young children learn.  It supports practitioners to look at how children access their learning and how they develop life-long skills to support future learning.  It ensures that practitioners provide a learning environment that encourages each and every child to develop these skills and help them to become a reflective and motivated learner. 

Prime and Specific Areas of Learning:
These areas of learning develop in response to relationships and experiences, and are fundamental in supporting all other areas of learning.  They are broken down into 7 main areas:

Prime Areas of Learning:   
Personal, Social and Emotional Development - PSED
Language and Communication - CL
Physical Development - PD

Specific Areas of Learning:
These areas of learning develop essential skills and knowledge

Literacy – L
Mathematical Development – MD
Understanding of the World – UW
Expressive Arts and design – EAD

Please click here for further information